Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

Staff Contact: Mark Cochran, Economic and Community Development Director

[email protected]

The Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) meets the second Tuesday of each month, as business warrants. The ZBA meets in the Council Chambers of City Hall at 120 East First Street at 7:00 pm.

The ZBA reviews a variety of cases which include but are not limited to appeals of zoning decisions by another city board or department, variances from compliance with the City of Monroe Zoning Code and Zoning Code interpretation. This board's decisions are final at the local level of review.

The ZBA consists of five (5) members who are city residents and appointed by the Mayor, and one (1) member of the Citizens Planning Commission. Once appointed, board members serve a term of three (3) years. If a vacancy occurs during a Board member's term, reappointment shall be for a term of three (3) years. When such vacancies occur, city residents can express interest in filling the vacancy by completing an Application and submitting it to the Mayor's Office.

A wide variety of functions are performed by City Boards and Commissions. For more information, please see the links below.

Current Members:

Mike Bosanac, Chairperson
William Kipf, Vice Chairperson
Brian Beneteau
Jeffrey Hensley
Robert Yeo
George O'Dell, Alternate
Harry Reisig, Alternate