Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

Staff Contact: Amy Zarend, Economic Development & Authorities Coordinator
[email protected]

The Brownfield Redevelopment Authority meets the second Thursday of each month. This board guides economic development activities pertaining to brownfields and performs duties prescribed to it by the Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Act of the State of Michigan.

Some of the most notable developments in Monroe over the past twenty years have included brownfield redevelopment reviewed and recommended for approval by the BRA. These include the River Raisin National Battlefield Park, the Mason Run Development and Ventower Industries.

To inquire whether a project might be eligible for economic development incentives available to brownfields, please reach out to our staff contact above to arrange a meeting.

The BRA meets in City Council Chambers in City Hall at 8:00 am.

The BRA consists of seven (7) members who are residents of the City of Monroe and appointed by the Mayor. Once appointed, Commissioners serve a term of three (3) years. If a vacancy occurs during a Commissioner's term, it will be filled for the completion of that term. When such vacancies occur, city residents can express interest in filling the vacancy by completing an APPLICATION and submitting it to the Mayor's Office.

Current Brownfield Redevelopment Authority Members:

Don Lieto, Chairman
Dale Brose
J Brett Cunningham
Sue Iott-Garrison
Patrick Williams
Jeffery Hensley

Robert E. Clark, Mayor