Monroe Public Safety Department: Fire Division

The Fire Division of the City of Monroe Public Safety Department, the Monroe Fire Department, was founded in 1837 and provides the highest level of fire, rescue, emergency medical and all hazard response to those who live, work, and play within our community. We accomplish this through our organizational values of professionalism, public outreach, training, education, fire prevention, incident management and continuous improvement.

Operating out of two stations, the Department covers a 10.99 square-mile district with a population of nearly 20,500. Each station is strategically located in areas that provide the best coverage and response to the citizens we serve.

The Fire Division consists of career full time firefighter paramedics, Fire Marshall, and cross trained police officers who cover the department 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Those members operate two fully equipped Advanced Life Support Engines.

The Monroe Fire Department provides the highest level of emergency response. Our goal is to make our community a safer place for living, working and visiting.

The Department is proud to carry a Fire Suppression rating (formally known as ISO rating) of 4 inside the city. Learn about ISO rating online We have an Automatic Aid Agreement with Frenchtown Township and Monroe Township.

Non-emergency calls, please contact us at 734.243.7070. For emergencies, dial 911.

NOTE:  For a full list of Fire Department pages, please select "More Fire Links" on the upper right hand side of this page.

Contact Information

Chad J. Tolstedt
Director of Public Safety
Station #1 @ 911 E Third St, Monroe, MI, 48161
Station #2 @ 1755 N Custer, Monroe, MI, 48162
Phone: (734) 241-1626
Phone: (734) 243-7070 Central Dispatch